Hailey's Days

Getting Crafty

Posted on: March 9, 2011

Really – I’m just getting domesticated. 🙂

I’ve been looking into different crafts. I’ve tried knitting, but I can’t seem to do it as well as I had hoped. I know I should just keep trying and that eventually if I work hard at it I will get it. But that’s not really gratifying is it?  I can scrapbook, I can make pictures with pastels, I can sorta sew (Looking to get better at that too!) I can macramé and make some really cool friendship bracelets (Thank you Mary for teaching us that in tenth grade!)

My mom was going to teach me how to crochet  but since she has only the one set of needles it’s going to have to wait until I can get my own too. When I get paid next I may have to convince someone to go with me to Craft’s Direct to get the needles and some yarn. The same with knitting – maybe I’ll pick up bigger needles and have my friend try to re-teach me. Is there something out there for people like me – knitting for dummies?  There has to be.

My New Year’s resolution to myself was to learn new skills and acquire a new hobby that could be a lifelong interest. Along with trying to not be so negative despite everything going on. I’m learning how to blog better (my posts are more closely dated than my old blog!) by reading other people’s blogs and seeing what makes them interesting. I don’t feel the need necessarily to write about my personal life because well, that’s personal. It doesn’t need to be splashed all over the internet. So this is strictly just for accomplishments on my Goal/Resolution to being more creative (and to also read more books but that’s a different story…)

I’m sorry that this isn’t very organized, I’m not a very organized thinker. I try to be. However, since my thoughts are so random do these. When I sat down to write this I had a very clear vision of what I wanted this to say. Oh well. 🙂

I could post on here what I want to make (for each type of craftiness), but if I never make it to that I wouldn’t want to create false expectations of myself. Especially if one of the crafts I want to learn takes me a while to get the hang of (Which, I’m sure it will. I’m not very patient – but I’m going to try to be.)

The only thing I’m going to post that I want to make is a quilted blanket for my niece. I mentioned this in an earlier blog post too. I’ve already talked with my favorite Sister-in-Law Christie (I can say that because she’s the only one.) I’m thinking different pinks for her – but I’m trying to think of a good contrast color for it. I’m thinking yellows –  lighter paler yellows.

My fiancée says I need to focus, but I’m like my mother – I focus on thing for a short period of time and then throw myself into something else. (You could even notice on my blog – I focus on baking first and move into crafts – I’m still not done with learning to bake better.) I just need to focus on my mantra: I am an all – around domestic goddess, I can do this 😉

(PS. This domestic goddess has a strange sense of humor….)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

